Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring Award

Nominations are invited for the SEDAAG Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring Award. Some faculty spend many hours helping students to come up with research ideas, and then help students develop those ideas into poster or oral presentations without recognition as a co-author. The award acknowledges sustained excellence in undergraduate mentoring. Nominations from current and former students are especially welcome. Nominees for this award should meet the following criteria:

  1. Sustained involvement as mentor or advisor to students making a poster or oral presentations;
  2. Record of student successes at state, regional, and/or national meetings;
  3. Recognition of mentoring excellence by the department, school, or other organizations can come in the form of letters, prior awards, and other documents.

For nomination guidelines, please follow the link to the SEDAAG Awards Page.

The following distinguished Geographers have been awarded the Undergraduate Mentoring Award since 2019.

2023Michelle RitchieUniversity of Georgia
2022Saeideh GharehchahiJacksonville State University
2021Ingrid LuffmanEast Tennessee State University
2019Michael PretesUniversity of North Alabama