Outstanding Service Award

This award recognizes those individuals who have (1) Evidence of exceptional professional commitment to geography at any level, including service to professional organizations; colleges and universities; primary and secondary education; local, state, or national government; private business and industry; (2) Examples of worthy contributions include but are not limited to appointed or elected professional offices, journal editorships, professional organization committees, speaking or otherwise providing leadership in a variety of public forums, and publication in the popular press.

The following distinguished Geographers have been awarded the SEDAAG Outstanding Service Award since 1987

1987Donald PattonUniversity of Florida
 Sidney JumperUniversity of Tennessee
 Harm de BlijMiami University
1990Stephen S. BirdsallUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
1991Neal G. LinebackAppalachian State University
1992Stanley BrunnUniversity of Kentucky
1993James O. WheelerUniversity of Georgia
1994J. Dennis LordUniversity of North Carolina, Charlotte
1995Janet E. KodrasFlorida State University
1996Jesse O. McKeeUniversity of Southern Mississippi
 David C. WeaverUniversity of Alabama
1997Dennis L. SpetzUniversity of Louisville
1998Thomas BellUniversity of Tennessee
1999Howard G. JohnsonJacksonville State University
2000Truman HartshornGeorgia State University
2001John J. WinberryUniversity of South Carolina
2002Lizbeth Ann PyleWest Virginia University
2003Tyrel “Tink” MooreUniversity of North Carolina, Charlotte
2005Kavita PanditUniversity of Georgia
2006Ron MitchelsonEast Carolina University
2007Gerald WebsterUniversity of Wyoming
2008Donald ZeiglerOld Dominion University
2009Laurence W. CarstensenVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
2010Jonathan I. LeibOld Dominion University
2011Derek AldermanEast Carolina University
2014Hilda KurtzUniversity of Georgia
2015Doug GambleUniversity of North Carolina, Wilmington
2016David M. Cochran, JrUniversity of Southern Mississippi
 Carl A. ReeseUniversity of Southern Mississippi
2017Kathleen SchroederAppalachian State University
2018Eric FournierSamford University
2019Deepak MishraUniversity of Georgia
2020Katherine HankinsGeorgia State University
2021Heidi LannonUniversity of Florida