Nominations for 2021 SEDAAG Awards are now open, due October 24th!

The SEDAAG Honors Committee is seeking nominations for the annual awards given at the annual regional meeting. Please see the list of awards, linked below. Complete submissions for the SEDAAG Honors nominees should be sent in PDF format (multiple file submissions are fine) to Dr. Douglas L. Allen, Honors Committee chair, at All honors-related questions should also be directed to Dr. Allen. Thank you!

Materials submitted in the application must include:

(1) A cover letter that includes a summary of educational background and academic honors;

(2) A full CV of the candidate;

(3) Letters of recommendation from three persons familiar with the applicant’s qualifications; and

(4) One copy of each undergraduate transcript inclusive of college course work through Summer 2021 for the Prunty Scholarship.

Past Recipients of Honors from the
Southeastern Division of the Association of American Geographers

Lifetime Achievement Award
Research Honors Award
Outstanding Service Award
Excellence in Teaching Award
Honorary Life Membership Awards
Merle C. Prunty Scholarship Award
John Fraser Hart Award, Best PhD Student Paper
Best Master’s Paper
Best Graduate Student Poster
Best Undergraduate Student Poster
Southeastern Geographer award for best paper
Southeastern Geographer Photo Contest
Undergraduate  Honors Poster Competition for Human Geography
Undergraduate Honors Poster Competition for Physical Geography
Undergraduate Mentoring Award