Southeastern Geographer

Submit Manuscript

It is with great pleasure to announce that beginning fall 2023, Southeastern Geographer will receive an impact factor. Since its inception in 1961, the flagship journal of the Southeastern Division of the American Association of Geographers (SEDAAG) has published research on a wide variety of topics relating to the American South. Southeastern Geographer is considered by many to be one of the best regional geography journals in the United States. Contributing authors have represented researchers from all career stages ranging from emerging to senior scholars. We are hopeful that with the inclusion of an impact factor, more scholars will consider Southeastern Geographer as a potential publication outlet.

Journal Focus

The Southeastern Geographer is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles, research notes, and book reviews on all geographical topics with emphasis on the American South. It is published quarterly: March, June, September, and December. Southeastern Geographer is available both in print and digitally, via several e-book platforms, and via Project Muse.


Shrinidhi Ambinakudige ( is a Professor of Geography and GIS at Mississippi State University. His research encompasses both physical and human geographical approaches. The broad focus of his research is on the interactions between nature and society, specifically the human dimension of global environmental change.

Brian Williams (, is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Geosciences at Mississippi State University. Dr. Williams is a broadly-trained human geographer whose work brings together political ecology, critical race scholarship, environmental justice, and agri-food geographies. His research traces the political, cultural, and ecological dimensions of agricultural and environmental change in the United States South.

Contact the editors at


For article submission guidelines and other information for authors, click here (PDF)

For submitting a manuscript to Southeastern Geographer, click here.

For the response letter template, click here (docx).

Peer-Review Guidelines

For reviewer guidelines and other information for reviewers, click here (PDF).


For advertising and other information, visit the journal’s page at the University of North Carolina Press.


Members of the Southeastern Division of the American Association of Geographers receive the Southeastern Geographer as part of their annual dues. Institutions may also subscribe. For membership and subscription information, please visit Member Information.

Back Issues and Single Issue Orders

We are not currently taking back issue and single-issue print orders. Individuals may purchase digital issues of the journal through Project MUSE.

Editorial Board

Derek H. Alderman University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Arvind Bhuta United States Forest Service 

Mona Domosh Dartmouth College 

LaToya Eaves University of Tennessee, Knoxville 

Kelsey Ellis University of Tennessee, Knoxville 

Joann Engstrom University of South Florida 

Carrie Freshour Georgia State University 

Douglas W. Gamble University of North Carolina Wilmington 

Willam (Bill) Graves University of North Carolina at Charlotte 

Dean Hardy University of South Carolina 

Hilda Kurtz University of Georgia 

Yujie Hu University of Florida 

Paul Knapp University of North Carolina, Greensboro 

John Kupfer University of South Carolina 

Jared Margulies University of Alabama 

Paul McDaniel Kennesaw State University 

C. Shawn McGuffey Boston College 

Richard Milligan Georgia State University 

Deepak Mishra University of Georgia 

Chandana Mitra Auburn University 

Joann Mossa University of Florida 

Rasul Mowatt North Carolina State University 

Robert Oliver Virginia Tech 

Jason Ortegren University of West Florida 

Esra Ozdenerol University of Memphis 

Sage Ponder Florida State University 

Amy Potter Georgia Southern University 

Narcisa Pricope Mississippi State University 

Lynn Resler Virginia Tech 

Thomas Saladyga Concord University 

Michelle Saunders Mississippi State University 

J. Anthony Stallins University of Kentucky 

Selima Sultana University of North Carolina, Greensboro 

Joe Weber University of Alabama 

Willie Jamaal Wright University of Florida

Stephanie Zick Virginia Tech