Excellence in Teaching

This award acknowledges sustained excellence and creativity in the college classroom. Nominations from current and former students are especially welcome. Nominees for this award should meet the following criteria: (1) Exceptional commitment to effective geography teaching; (2) Record of efforts to help diffuse excellent geography teaching beyond one’s immediate classroom (teaching-related publications, workshops, web sites, textbooks, etc.); (3) Recognition of teaching excellence by department, school, or other organizations; (4) Support of teaching excellence via student evaluations or comments.

The following distinguished Geography faculty have been awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award since 2008

Year Recipient Institution
2008 Margaret “Peggy” Gripshover University of Tennessee
2009 Douglas W. Gamble University of North Carolina, Wilmington
2010 Jennifer Collins University of South Florida
2011 Eric Fournier Samford University
2012 Sharon C. Cobb University of North Florida
2013 Dawn Bowen Mary Washington University
Thomas Chapman Old Dominion University
Ron Kalafsky University of Tennessee
2014 Jerry Mitchell University of South Carolina
2015 Michael Pretes University of North Alabama
2016 John Knox University of Georgia
2017 Mark Miller University of Southern Mississippi
2018 Lynn Phillips Univesity of Kentucky
2019 Corene Matyas University of Florida
2020 Robert Oliver Virginia Tech