Merle C. Prunty Scholarship Award

The Southeastern Division of the Association of American Geographers annually awards the Merle C. Prunty Scholarship to an outstanding undergraduate student from our region with the objective of encouraging talented undergraduate students to pursue professional careers in geography. Eligibility: Applicants must currently be juniors or seniors and enrolled as geography majors (or geography minors) in a college or university located within the Southeastern Division. Applicants must demonstrate an interest in pursuing a professional career or the clear potential to pursue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree. Applicants are evaluated by the SEDAAG Honors Committee on the basis of scholastic record and professional promise.

The following distinguished Geography students have been awarded the Merle C. Prunty Scholarship since 1984

1984Jeanne M. MurdayUniversity of South Carolina
1985Christine KlaineMemphis State University
1986Mark KempWest Virginia University
1987Jefferson J. BeecklerWestern Kentucky University
1988Randi HornerEast Carolina University
1989Elizabeth Lowell,University of Georgia
1990Michelle MillsAppalachian State University
1991Charles W. LafonEmory and Henry College
1992Jeanne D. WershovenFlorida Atlantic
1993Tina L. JohnsonWest Virginia University
1994Robin HarrisUniversity of Memphis
1997Laura FischerUniversity of South Carolina
1998Bonnie KasermanUniversity of North Carolina
1999Tamara JohnsonUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2000Joseph MorrisUniversity of North Carolina, Charlotte
2001Anthony P. FoisyVirginia Tech
2002Lindsey N. WilliamsUniversity of Georgia
 Anthony RobinsonEast Carolina University
2003Gwyneth MoodyUniversity of Georgia
2004Dana Marie GoinsUniversity of North Carolina, Charlotte
 Marcia HsuUniversity of Georgia
2005Sol WuenschEast Carolina University
2007Sara NicholsonUniversity of Southern Mississippi
2008Laura PaulikUniversity of Georgia
2009Jason JonesUniversity of Southern Mississippi
2010Cal R. ScheinertEast Carolina University
2011Justin FrazierOld Dominion University
2012Camille Parker GregoryUniversity of Georgia
2013Alexandra HorstUniversity of Georgia
2014Sarah MirzaUniversity of Georgia
2015Kati PerryUniversity of Southern Mississippi
2016Madison HeffentragerEast Carolina University
2017Addy FalgoustUniversity of Southern Mississippi
2018John E. CrowellUniversity of North Alabama
2019Sarah VanSchoikUniversity of Florida
2021Megan PorterUniversity of Tennessee-Knoxville