Officers and Committees

President   
Selima Sultana (2023-2025)
Department of Geography, Environment, and Sustainability
UNC Greensboro 
237 Graham Building
1009 Spring Garden Street
Greensboro, NC 27412
s_sultan@uncg.edu

Vice President
Amy Potter (2022-2024)
Department of Geology and Geography
Georgia Southern University
11935 Abercorn Street
Armstrong Science Center,
Savannah, GA 
amypotter@georgiasouthern.edu
 
Treasurer
Sarah Praskievicz (2023-2025)
Department of Geography, Environment, and Sustainability
UNC Greensboro 
237 Graham Building
1009 Spring Garden Street
Greensboro, NC 27412
sjpraski@uncg.edu

Secretary
Mark Sciuchetti (2022-2024)
Department of Chemistry and Geosciences
Jacksonville State University
700 Pelham Rd. N
Jacksonville, AL 36265
msciuchetti@jsu.edu 

Regional Councillor*
Heidi Lannon
Santa Fe College
heidi.lannon@sfcollege.edu
(July 1, 2023-June 30, 2026)
 
Past President
William Graves (Bill) (2023-2025)
Department of Geography and Earth Sciences
UNC Charlotte  
9021 University City Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28223-0001
bgraves@uncc.edu

Steering Committee
[Includes members of the Executive Committee, the Editors of the Southeastern Geographer, and the elected Representative from the ten states comprising SEDAAG.]

Editors, Southeastern Geographer
Shrinidhi Ambinakudige (ssa60@msstate.edu) and
Brian Williams (bsw63@msstate.edu),
Department of Geosciences, Mississippi State University,
Mississippi State, MS 39762

State Representatives
Alabama 2023-25: Jennifer Rahn, Samford University,
(jlrahn@samford.edu)

Florida 2023-25: David Keellings, University of Florida,
(djkeellings@ufl.edu)

Georgia 2022-24 Helen Rosko, Georgia Southern University,
(hrosko@georgiasouthern.edu)

Kentucky 2023-25: Bethany Craig, University of Kentucky,
(bcr251@uky.edu)

Mississippi 2022-24: Caleb Smith, Jones College,
(caleb.smith@jcjc.edu)

North Carolina 2022-24: Derek Martin, Appalachian State University,
(martindj1@appstate.edu)

South Carolina 2023-25: Jerry Mitchell, University of South Carolina,
(mitchell@sc.edu)

Tennessee 2022-24: Craig Laing, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga,
(Craig-Laing@utc.edu)

Virginia 2022-24: Jennifer Whytlaw, Old Dominion University,
(jwhytlaw@odu.edu)

West Virginia 2023-25: Tom Saladyga, Concord University,
(saladygat@concord.edu)

Student Representative to the Steering Committee
Jessica Flach, University of South Carolina (2023-2024)
(jflach@email.sc.edu)

Honors Committee
Saeideh Gharehchahi, Jacksonville State University (2022-2024)
(sgharehchahi@jsu.edu)

Michael Ewers, UNC Charlotte (2022-2024)
(mewers@uncc.edu)

Jonathan Kozar, Marshall University (2022-2024)
(kozar@marshall.edu)

Ingrid Luffman, East Tennessee State University (2022-2024)
(Luffman@mail.etsu.edu)

Gabe Schwartzman, University of Tennessee (2023-2025)
(gschwar3@utk.edu)

Maegen Rochner, University of Louisville (2023-2025)
(meagen.rochner@louisville.edu)

Nominations Committee
Joyce Clapp, UNC Greensboro (2023-2025)
(jfclapp@uncg.edu)

Madhuri Sharma, University of Tennessee (2023-2024)
(msharma3@utk.edu)

Jordan Cissell, Samford University (2023-2024)
(jcissel1@samford.edu)
 
IDEAL (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Accessibility and Learning) Committee
Clay Tucker, University of Alabama (2022-2024)
(cstucker3@ua.edu)

Michele Abee, Bellarmine University (2022-2024)
(mabee@bellarmine.edu)

Zainab Ali, University of Florida (2022-2024)
(zainabali@ufl.edu)

Timothy Mulrooney, North Carolina Central University (2023-2025)
(tmulroon@nccu.edu)

Travis Bradshaw, Liberty University (2023-2025)
(tbradshaw10@liberty.edu)

Rafael Harun, Tennessee State University (2023-2025)
(sharun@tnstate.edu)

Audit Committee
Saskia van de Gevel, Appalachian State University (2023-2025)
(gevelsv@appstate.edu)

Joe Weber, University of Alabama (2023-2025)
(jweber2@au.edu)

Endowment Committee
John Kupfer, University of South Carolina,
(kupfer@sc.edu)

Kathy Sherman-Morris, Mississippi state University,
(kms5@msstate.edu)

Paul McDaniel, Kennesaw State University,
(pmcdan11@kennesaw.edu)

Derek Alderman, University of Tennessee,
(dalderma@utk.edu)

Webmaster
Mark Sciuchetti (msciuchetti@jsu.edu)