2018 SEDAAG Annual Meeting

The 73rd Annual SEDAAG Meeting will be held November 18-19, 2018, in Johnson City, TN at the Carnegie Hotel and Millennium Center.

New: 2018 SEDAAG Conference: Final Program (.pdf);

New: Walking Tour

New: Local Host Site

Dr. Marshall Shepherd to deliver keynote address at 2018 SEDAAG conference.

Johnson City, TN – 2018 conference venue

Dr. Marshall Shepherd – 2018 SEDAAG conference Keynote Speaker
Please follow these links for:

  1. Online registration
  2. Call for Papers and Posters
  3. Abstract Submission Form
  4. Conference hotels and accommodation
  5. Graduate Student Paper and Poster Competition information
  6. Undergraduate Student Poster Competition information
  7. World Geography Bowl information
  8. 2018 Photo Context
  9. Final Program
  10. Walking Tour

NOTE: People presenting papers or posters at the annual meeting must be current members of SEDAAG. If you are not a SEDAAG member, please join before registering for the meeting. Visit http://www.sedaag.org/membership to apply for membership. If you do not wish to join SEDAAG, please pay the non-member registration fee, which is the equivalent of the regular registration fee plus membership dues. It is the hope of the Executive Committee that all meeting participants will choose to join SEDAAG and enjoy the benefits of membership, which include a subscription to the Southeastern Geographer.

Dr. Marshall Shepherd is a leading international expert in weather and climate and is the Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor of Geography and Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Georgia.  Dr. Shepherd was the 2013 President of American Meteorological Society (AMS), the nation’s largest and oldest professional/science society in the atmospheric and related sciences. Dr. Shepherd serves as Director of the University of Georgia’s (UGA) Atmospheric Sciences Program and Full Professor in the Department of Geography where he is Associate Department Head. Dr. Shepherd is also the host of The Weather Channel’s Award-Winning Sunday talk show Weather Geeks, a pioneering Sunday talk podcast/show and a contributor to Forbes Magazine. Dr. Shepherd is the 2018 recipient of the prestigious AMS Helmut Landsberg Award for pioneering and significant work in urban climate and in 2017, he was honored with the AMS Brooks Award, a high honor within the field of meteorology. Ted Turner and his Captain Planet Foundation honored Dr. Shepherd in 2014 with its Protector of the Earth Award. Prior recipients include Erin Brockovich and former EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson. Read full biographical sketch here.