Officer and Special Award Nominations Sought


The following positions are open and will begin 2-year terms at the close of the 2015 annual meeting:

  • President
  • Treasurer
  • State Representatives: Alabama, Florida, Kentucky, South Carolina and West Virginia

Please send nominations for OFFICERS by September 15, 2015 to John Rodgers, at (


Lifetime Achievement Award: Nominees for this award should meet the following criteria: (1) An extensive record of research and publication in scholarly journals, books, and other appropriate formats; (2) A record of excellence in teaching and advising as evidenced by teaching awards, students advised, and other appropriate measures; (3) A record of service contributions to the individual’s educational institution in the form of administrative positions, committee work, and community contact; (4) A record of support to the geography profession whether through formal services to international, national, or regional organizations or informal work in the public domain.
Research Honors Award: Nominees for this award should meet the following criteria: (1) A significant record of quality research and publication in scholarly journals, books, and other appropriate formats. This record may reflect the cumulative work of several years or the publication of important contributions in a shorter period of time; (2) Evidence of research leadership at both an institutional (college, university, industry) and organizational level (professional associations) where scholarly papers are presented and students and colleagues are advised.
Outstanding Service Award: Nominees for this award should meet the following criteria: (1) Evidence of exceptional professional commitment to geography at any level, including service to professional organizations; colleges and universities; primary and secondary education; local, state, or national government; private business and industry; (2) Examples of worthy contributions include but are not limited to appointed or elected professional offices, journal editorships, professional organization committees, speaking or otherwise providing leadership in a variety of public forums, and publication in the popular press.
Excellence in Teaching Award: Nominations are invited for the newly established SEDAAG Excellence in Teaching Award. The award acknowledges sustained excellence and creativity in the college classroom. Nominations from current and former students are especially welcome. Nominees for this award should meet the following criteria: (1) Exceptional commitment to effective geography teaching; (2) Record of efforts to help diffuse excellent geography teaching beyond one’s immediate classroom (teaching-related publications, workshops, web sites, textbooks, etc.); (3) Recognition of teaching excellence by department, school, or other organizations; (4) Support of teaching excellence via student evaluations or comments.
Merle C. Prunty Student Scholarship: The Southeastern Division of the Association of American Geographers annually awards the Merle C. Prunty Scholarship to an outstanding undergraduate student from our region with the objective of encouraging talented undergraduate students to pursue professional careers in geography.  Eligibility: Applicants must currently be juniors or seniors and enrolled as geography majors (or geography minors) in a college or university located within the Southeastern Division. Applicants must demonstrate an interest in pursuing a professional career or the clear potential to pursue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree. Applicants are evaluated by the SEDAAG Honors Committee on the basis of scholastic record and professional promise.

Notification: Award recipients will be named at the Honors Banquet at the 2015 Division meeting. All applicants will be informed of the outcome by e-mail.
Application Materials: Materials submitted in the application must include: (1) A cover letter that includes a summary of educational background and academic honors; (2) One copy of each undergraduate transcript inclusive of college course work through Fall 2015 for Prunty Scholarship; (3) Letters of recommendation from three persons familiar with the applicant’s qualifications.

All nomination materials will be accepted ELECTRONICALLY.

Send nominations for AWARDS with FULL CV of candidate and 3 letters of support in the body of an email and/or attached as MS Word or PDF documents by September 15, 2015 to John Rodgers, at ( Dr. Rodgers also encourages submission of names of deserving award recipients and their potential nominators.

Registration for 2015 meeting now open.

A link to meeting registration and hotel reservations for the Pensacola meeting has now been added.  Visit for more information.

Hope to see you in Pensacola!

New Committee Members Elected

Congratulations to our newly elected committee members:

Honors Committee

  • Grant Harley (Chair Elect)
  • Elizabeth Delmelle
  • Liem Tran
  • Samantha Earnest

Nominations Committee

  • John Rodgers (Chair Elect)
  • Dawn Drake

Thank you for everyone who was willing to be nominated!

2014 SEDAAG Annual Meeting Registration and Call for Papers

Details for the 2014 SEDAAG meeting and call for papers has been posted.  Please visit the following links.




2013 SEDAAG Elections Results are in!!!

Congratulations to the 2013 Election Winners:

Skeeter Dixon, President

Scott Curtis, Treasurer

State Representatives:

Toni Alexander (AL)

Corene Matyas (FL)

Kelly Watson (KY)

William Terry (SC)

Tom Saladyga (WV)

2013 Honors and Nominations Committees

At the 2012 SEDAAG Business Meeting, the following individuals were elected to the Honors and Nominations Committee.

2013 Honor Committee

Chris Baldurek, Appalachia State University, Chair

Sharon Cobb, U of North Florida (Chair Elect)

Eric Fournier, Samford University

Grant Harley, U of Southern Mississippi

Darren Parnell, Salisbury University

2013 Nominations Committee

Ron Yarbrough, Georgia Southern University, Chair

Jackie Gallahger, Mary Washington University

 Josh Inwood, U of Tennessee (Chair Elect)

Congratulations to the SEDAAG 2012 Award Winners!!!

The following award winners were honored at the SEDAAG 2012 Annual Meeting in Asheville, NC.

Best Masters Paper Award, 2012: Linwood E. Hall, East Carolina University, “A climatology of the structure, frequency, and propagation of midlatitude cyclones that affect North Carolina.”

John Fraser Hart Best Ph.D. Paper, 2012: Whalen W. Dillon, UNC-Charlotte, “Range-wide risks to a foundaton tree species from disturbance interactions.”

Best Graduate Poster Award, 2012: Kunwar K. Singh, UNC-Charlotte, “Detecting and mapping sub-canopy invasive plants in urbanizing forest landscapes using LiDAR-derived metrics.”

Best Undergraduate Poster Award, 2012: Taylor D. Holden, University of Richmond, “Mapping the trees of the University of Richmond: Species diversity and carbon content.”

Merle C. Prunty, Jr.  Scholarship, 2012: Camille Parker Gregory, University of Georgia

Research Honors Award, 2012: Jonathan I. Leib, Old Dominion University

Lifetime Achievement Award, 2012: Kathleen C. Parker, University of Georgia

Excellence in Teaching Award, 2012: Sharon C. Cobb, University of North Florida