Officers and Committee 2020-2021

Lynn Resler (2020-2021)
VT Department of Geography
238 Wallace Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Vice President
Jennifer Rahn (2021-2022)
Department of Geography and Sociology
Samford University
Birmingham, AL
Voice: 205-726-2109

Craig Ramseyer (2021-2022)
VT Department of Geography
204 Wallace Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Voice: 540-231-3206

Amy E. Potter (2020-2021)
Associate Professor of Geography
Department of Geology and Geography
Armstrong Campus Hawes Hall 110 D

Regional Councillor*
Selima Sultana
University of North Carolina Greensboro
(July 1, 2020-June 30, 2023)

Past President
Joann Mossa (2018-2019)
Department of Geography
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611
Voice: (352) 294-7510

Steering Committee
[Includes members of the Executive Committee, the Editors of the Southeastern Geographer, and the elected Representative from the ten states comprising SEDAAG.]

Editors, Southeastern Geographer
Selima Sultana ( and Paul Knapp (, Department of Geography, Environment, and Sustainability; University of North Carolina Greensboro, Greensboro, NC 27412.

State Representatives*
Alabama 2020-21: Caroline McClure, University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa. (
Florida 2020-21: Cynthia Simmons, University of Florida, (
Georgia 2021-22 Eric Spears, Columbus State University (
Kentucky 2020-21: Peggy Gripshover, Western Kentucky (
Mississippi 2021-22: Brian Williams, Mississippi State University (​)
North Carolina 2021-22: Sarah Praskievicz, University of North Carolina, Greensboro ( ​)
South Carolina 2020-21: Conor Harrison, University of South Carolina(
Tennessee 2021-22: Ingrid Luffman, East Tennessee State University (
Virginia 2021-22: Anamaria Bukvic, Virginia Tech. (​
West Virginia 2020-21:  Jamison Conley, West Virginia University.(

Student representative to the Steering Committee
Sarah VanSchoick, University of Florida

Honors Committee*
Douglas Allen, Emporia State University (2020–21)
Yin-Hsuen Chen, University of Florida (2020–21)
Dawn Drake, Missouri Western State University (2021–22)
Jonathan Fleming, Samford University (2021–22)
Stockton Maxwell, Radford University (2021–22)
Phillip Schmutz, University of West Florida (2021–22)

Nominations Committee*
Jonathan Kozar, Marshall University (2021–22)
Corene Matyas, University of Florida (2020–21)
Tom Saladyga (Chair), Concord University (2020–21)

Audit Committee**
Sharon Cobb, University of North Florida
Luke Juran, Virginia Tech

Tellers Committee**
To be decided following nominations

Endowment Committee*
John Kupfer, University of South Carolina
Kathy Sherman-Morris, Mississippi state University
Amy Potter, Georgia Southern University
Deborah Thomas, University of North Carolina Charlotte


Craig Ramseyer (

World Geography Bowl Committee
Dawn Bowen, University of Mary Washington
Dawn Drake, Missouri Western State University
Dennis Edgell, University of North Carolina at Pembroke
George Lonberger, Perimeter College
Jamison Conley, West Virginia University
Jeff Neff, Western Carolina University
Lee Ann Nolan, West Virginia University
Margaret Gripshover, Western Kentucky University
Thomas Bell, Western Kentucky University and University of Tennessee

* Committee Elected by the Members of the Southeastern Division of the AAG
**Appointed by SEDAAG President

NOTE: Unless otherwise indicated, elected offices begin and end with the close of the annual SEDAAG meeting.

Recent Posts

Congratulations to the 2020 SEDAAG Award Winners!

2020 Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. James Campbell, Virginia Tech

2020 Outstanding Service Award
Dr. Katherine Hankins, Georgia State University

2020 Excellence in Teaching Award
Dr. Robert Oliver, Virginia Tech
Doctoral Student Paper Winner
Yasin Wahid Rabby, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Title: “Exploring the effects of Mahalanobis distance-based absence data sampling method on the landslide susceptibility mapping”

Master’s Student Paper Winner
Reagan Yessler, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Title: “Talking Back”: Louise Jefferson’s Life and Legacy of Counter-Mapping”

Master’s Student Poster Winner
Yvonne Marsan, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Title: “Changing Landscapes in the South, 1970 – 2020:
Emergence of Asian Indian Temples and Sanctuaries in North Carolina”

Undergraduate Poster Competition (Tie)
Lilian Hutchens, University of South Carolina
Title: “Improving Conservation Planning for the Congaree Biosphere Reserve”
– and –
Sierra Moore, Conservation Management Institute, Virginia Tech
Title: “Effects of Clearing Linear Features through Forest Patches in WV and VA”

Southeastern Geographer Best Paper Award
Evaluating Exposure to Coastal Hazards in the Supervised Offender Population Using Social Disorganization Theory. Ashleigh Price, David M. Cochran Jr, George Raber, Joshua Hill. Southeastern Geographer, Volume 60, Number 3, Fall 2020, pp. 215-234 DOI:

Southeastern Geographer Cover Art Contest Winners (Tie)
A. (Alex) Cooper, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
– and –
Caleb Smith, Jones College

World Geography Bowl Student Winners
5th Place, Kyler Stanley, Virginia Tech
4th Place, Thomas Vogel, East Carolina University
3rd Place, Sarah VanSchoick, University of Florida
2nd Place, Peter Forister, Virginia Tech
1st Place and Most Valuable Player, Nicholas Grondin, University of Tennessee, Knoxville


  1. 2020 Election Results Leave a reply
  2. Southeastern Geographer 5th Annual Cover Art Photo Contest Leave a reply
  3. SEDAAG Call for Award Nominations Leave a reply
  4. Call For Nominations: SEDAAG VP, Secretary, and State Reps -GA, MS, NC, TN and VA Leave a reply
  5. University of Texas Department of Marine Science seeks a postdoctoral researcher Leave a reply
  6. UT Austin Department of Marine Science seeks PhD students Leave a reply
  7. SEDAAG Florence, AL meeting postponed to 2021, & 2020 meeting will be a virtual meeting Leave a reply
  8. Selima Sultana is the new Regional Councilor for the Southeastern Region 1 Reply
  9. Assistant Professor in Human Geography (Black Geographies) – Mississippi State University Leave a reply