Officers and Committee 2019-2020

Lynn Resler (2020-2021)
VT Department of Geography
238 Wallace Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Vice President
William (Bill) Graves (2019-2020)
Department of Geography & Earth Sciences
UNC Charlotte
Charlotte, NC
McEniry 428
Voice: 704-687-5980

Shrinidhi Ambinakudige (2019-2020)
Department of Geosciences
Mississippi State University
212 Hilbun Hall
Starkville, MS 39762
Voice: (662) 325-0241

Amy E. Potter (2020-2021)
Associate Professor of Geography
Department of Geology and Geography
Armstrong Campus Hawes Hall 110 D

Regional Councillor*
John Kupfer
University of South Carolina
(July 1, 2017-June 30, 2020)

Past President

Joann Mossa (2018-2019)
Department of Geography
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611
Voice: (352) 294-7510

Steering Committee

[Includes members of the Executive Committee, the Editors of the Southeastern Geographer, and the elected Representative from the ten states comprising SEDAAG.]

Editors, Southeastern Geographer
Selima Sultana ( and Paul Knapp (, Department of Geography, Environment, and Sustainability; University of North Carolina Greensboro, Greensboro, NC 27412.

State Representatives*

Alabama 2020-21: Caroline McClure, University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa. (
Florida 2020-21: Cynthia Simmons, University of Florida, (
Amy Potter 2019-20: Georgia Southern University (
Kentucky 2020-21: Peggy Gripshover – Western Kentucky (
Mississippi 2019-20: Jerry “Joby” Bass – University of Southern Mississippi (​)
North Carolina 2019-20: Shane Canup – University of North Carolina, Greensboro (​)
South Carolina 2020-21: Conor Harrison – University of South Carolina(
Tennessee 2019-20: Kelsey Ellis – University of Tennessee, Knoxville.  (
Virginia 2019-20: Stephanie E. Zick – Virginia Tech. (​
West Virginia 2020-21:  Jamison Conley – West Virginia University.(

Honors Committee*

Eric Spears, Columbus State University—Chair, 2019-20
Anzhelika Antipova, University of Memphis—2019-20
Sarah Praskievicz, University of North Carolina Greensboro—2020–21
Yin-Hsuen Chen, University of Florida—2020–21
Douglas Allen, Middle Tennessee State University—2020–21

Nominations Committee*
Thomas Chapman, Old Dominion University (Chair)
Corene Matyas, University of Florida
Tom Saladyga, Concord University

Audit Committee**
Sharon Cobb, University of North Florida
Luke Juran, Virginia Tech

Tellers Committee**
To be decided following nominations

Endowment Committee*
John Kupfer, University of South Carolina
Kathy Sherman-Morris, Mississippi state University
Amy Potter, Georgia Southern University
Deborah Thomas, University of North Carolina Charlotte

Shrinidhi Ambinakudige (

World Geography Bowl Committee
Dawn Bowen, University of Mary Washington
Dawn Drake, Missouri Western State University
Dennis Edgell, University of North Carolina at Pembroke
George Lonberger, Perimeter College
Jamison Conley, West Virginia University
Jeff Neff, Western Carolina University
Lee Ann Nolan, West Virginia University
Margaret Gripshover, Western Kentucky University
Thomas Bell, Western Kentucky University and University of Tennessee

* Committee Elected by the Members of the Southeastern Division of the AAG
**Appointed by SEDAAG President

NOTE: Unless otherwise indicated, elected offices begin and end with the close of the annual SEDAAG meeting.

Recent Posts

Call For Nominations: SEDAAG VP, Secretary, and State Reps -GA, MS, NC, TN and VA

The Southeastern Division of the American Association of Geographers (SEDAAG) Nominations Committee is seeking individuals willing to serve as VICE PRESIDENT and SECRETARY. These positions are two-year terms beginning immediately after our 2020 SEDAAG Virtual Conference in November. We are also seeking STATE REPRESENTATIVES for Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. These positions are also two-year terms beginning immediately after the upcoming meeting.

The Vice-President serves as Head of the Program Committee and as a member of the Executive Committee. Please contact the current Vice President, Bill Graves at for additional information.

The Secretary serves as a member of the Executive Committee and is responsible for communicating with members through the webpage, newsletter, and email. The Secretary also coordinates the election of SEDAAG officers and elected committees and takes meeting minutes. Updating the SEDAAG website is also a current the duty of the secretary. Please contact the current Secretary, Shrinidhi Ambinakudige at for additional information.

State representatives represent their state on the SEDAAG Steering Committee and prepare a state-of-geography annual report for their state. Please feel free to contact Lynn Resler at or any of the current state reps for more information.

Nominations are due September 4, 2020. You may nominate yourself or another individual by emailing the nominations committee chair Dr. Thomas Chapman at Please provide the nominee’s name, institution, and email address. Nominees will be asked to submit a brief 1 paragraph biography for ballot purposes that includes their involvement with SEDAAG. Members of SEDAAG will then vote for these positions via an online poll. State Representatives will be elected by the voting membership of the respective states.

  1. University of Texas Department of Marine Science seeks a postdoctoral researcher Leave a reply
  2. UT Austin Department of Marine Science seeks PhD students Leave a reply
  3. SEDAAG Florence, AL meeting postponed to 2021, & 2020 meeting will be a virtual meeting Leave a reply
  4. Selima Sultana is the new Regional Councilor for the Southeastern Region 1 Reply
  5. Assistant Professor in Human Geography (Black Geographies) – Mississippi State University Leave a reply
  6. SECOND CALL: Nominations for the AAG Regional Councilor Position Leave a reply
  7. David Kaplan will be speaking at the 2019 SEDAAG Leave a reply
  8. Field trips @ SEDAAG 2019 meeting Leave a reply
  9. SEDAAG Final Program Leave a reply